Three Additional States Subject to NY’s Quarantine Order

New York issues quarantine orders for visitors from 19 US states
stature of liberty
International (Vax Before Travel)

New York Governor Andrew M. Cuomo announced that 3 additional US states now meet the metrics to qualify for the recent state-based travel advisory.

The newly-added states are Delaware, Kansas, and Oklahoma. 

The updated domestic advisory published on July 7, 2020, requires individuals who have traveled to New York from various states, all of which have significant community spread, to self-quarantine for 14 days. 

The quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

"As states around the country experience increasing community spread, New York is taking action to ensure the continued safety of our phased reopening.”

“Our entire response to this pandemic has been by the numbers, and we've set metrics for a community spread just as we set metrics for everything," Governor Cuomo said in a press statement. 

"We will now require individuals coming from Delaware, Kansas, and Oklahoma to quarantine for 14 days.”

“New Yorkers did the impossible - we went from the worst infection rate in the United States to one of the best - and the last thing we need is to see another spike of COVID-19." 

The full, updated list of states on the New York travel advisory and quarantine requirement is below:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi 
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

The number of new cases, the percentage of tests that were positive, and many other helpful data points are always available at New York Forward.

Additionally, Bloomberg reported the states of New Jersey and Connecticut joined New York in establishing these travel bans.

Vax-Before-Travel publishes travel advisory news.