Breaking News

Japan and Others Dropped From Safe Destination List

October 2, 2021 • 10:39 am CDT
(Vax Before Travel)

The European Union (EU) confirmed it had removed six countries from its list of safe travel destinations, meaning visitors or people returning from those countries are likely to face tighter controls such as COVID-19 tests or quarantine.

The EU’s 27 member states agreed to drop Japan, Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Brunei, and Serbia following a review.

According to Japan Times reporting, during September 2021, Japan was removed from the EU exemption list in January 2021, before being added again in June, as the EU eased restrictions ahead of vacation season.

Every Thursday, the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control publishes a COVID-19 travel risk map. This map uses color codes - green, orange, red and dark red - representing the COVID-19 risk levels.